Isle B. Stitching

A trip to OKC

Posted on: February 9, 2009

Roger had to go to Oklahoma City, which gave me a perfect opportunity to go along to visit my family. My mom, Debbie and I made our usual shopping trips to Kohl’s, Ulta, TJ Maxx, and various other places. Although we have a Kohl’s in College Station, I feel like I find a better selection in the stores in OKC. Because we’re in a college town, our Kohl’s seems to cater more to the college students than any other age bracket.

affairheartMichell came down from Tulsa on Friday night, and on Saturday the two of us, along with Debbie and my niece, Kristin, went to OKC’s Affair of the Heart. My sister has gone to this for years, but this was the first time for me. If you get the chance, you won’t want to miss out on this. This is one of the largest arts and crafts shows in the United States. It’s truly unique, with booths occupying more than five buildings throughout the OKC fair grounds. An Affair of the Heart was started by eight Oklahoma women who were selling their crafts at different shows. They started talking about what worked really well and what these shows could do to improve, and they realized they had enough experience and knowledge to start their own craft show. In 1985 they held their first Affair of the Heart. What started with 65 exhibitors has expanded into hundreds over the years. If you make crafts to sell you can look into getting your own booth at the event. They hold two of these a year: one in the fall and one in the spring. My sister stocks up on Christmas gifts at the fall event. It was a fun way to spend the day. Although, because it’s a three day event, you may need the whole weekend to really see the whole thing.  Here’s the website with more information:  http://www.aaoth.com/.

img9mI picked up another ‘H’ to add to my collection. I’m going to hang these above my bed, as in this photo, but using just the letter ‘H’. Of course, this will only happen once I get the bedroom painted. I also picked up two wax tart burners along with several sets of wax blocks in different scents. My house is either going to smell very nice or it’s going to give me a raging headache from all the different scents. What else did I get? I picked up a purse organizer, a toothpick holder for the sun visor in Roger’s car, and some scented crystals that are supposed to smell like lavendar, but…I’m not too sure that I recognize that lovely floral scent in my new crystals. 

2I bought this waterbead diffuser at Christmas. Kristin gave one of these to my mom, and I thought it was the neatest thing so I went out and bought one. It’s made by Moments by Upper Canada. You put the jelly-like beads into the glass vase, and then you add water and a little of the scent. You stir the beads to keep them moist, and you add more water and scent as they evaporate. It’s very unique, and a pretty way to scent a room. 

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives

My Designs

You can stitch these designs for personal use, to give as gifts, or to sell. You can add text, resize, or change colors. The design is not yours because you make changes. You cannot sell, share, give or trade any design. You can only sell the stitched design. The copyright of the design is mine. Please direct anyone interested in my designs to this site. Give credit to Isle B. Stitching. Thanks and enjoy!

What we’ve said!

Evelyn Dockery on Remember the Polaroid?
chebirba on Make this: #17
Jodi Rupp on Make this: #17
canineoralmelanoma on Time flies…
moose845 on Make this: #25
Add to Technorati Favorites
The Animal Rescue Site
