Isle B. Stitching

Flea Market shopping

Posted on: March 2, 2008

img_0050.jpgimg_0049.jpgimg_0053.jpg

On Friday Roger suggested that we go to the Canton Trade Days on Saturday. For those of you who don’t know, one weekend every month Canton, Texas, turns into the biggest open-air trade days in the world with up to 7,000 vendors and as many as 300,000 visitors. First Monday Trade Days takes place Thursday through Sunday before the first Monday of every month. You can find everything from animals, art, antiques, books, produce, plants (garden and home), fabric and paper, tools, clothing, and automotive supplies. And, of course, the usual junk, but, if you really look, you can find some good buys and bargains. It’s so big that you need the whole weekend to see the whole thing.

img_0055.jpgWe didn’t buy much. Two new dog leashes, which should come in handy giving the dogs a bath, an old cabinet that I’m thinking of using as an island in my kitchen, and this old Ritz dye rack. Excuse the look of the photo, but it was pretty dirty, and I was in the process of cleaning it up. Underneath all the grime I found the names of all the dye colors. I’m planning on using this for my sewing thread, and these names should come in handy for sorting by color.

Roger’s mother lives in Georgia, and whenever we go see her we always make a trip to the Jockey Lot in Anderson, South Carolina. Unlike Canton, the Jockey Lot is open every weekend and has over 1500 vendors on 65 acres. This one is great because it is close to the fabric mills so you can find great bargains on muslin, fabric, ribbons, etc. It also has everything you can find in Canton, and you need the weekend to go through the whole thing.

We had a good Saturday, and I hope yours was also. Until next time.

 Let’s go sew!

2 Responses to "Flea Market shopping"

Hi! I enjoyed reading about your flea market jaunts. I live in Florida, but my good friend sells at Canton, Texas…..silver jewelry. I met her in Brimfield, Massachusetts…another big outdoor flea market!
I just got an embroidery machine and I am having a lot of fun with it. In fact that is why I stumbled upon your website. My friend in Canton was telling me about the gal who sets up next to her in Canton who has an embroidery machine and sells embroidered baby items. So I was looking it up…and found you!
That flea market you talk about in South Carolina sounds great. I love all those bargains! Sometime I hope to go there and see it for myself.

Happy stitching, Pat

Hi Pat!
Congratulations on your new embroidery machine. They are a lot of fun. I don’t seem to get as much actual sewing done now that I’ve started digitizing. Are you planning on using it to make and sell things with your machine? I enjoy the big flea markets that have a little bit of everything. I’ve been to some smaller ones where everyone is selling the same things and most of it comes from China, India, etc. I love the ones where people are selling the stuff out of their attics. Good luck with your machine!

Leave a Reply

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

My Designs

You can stitch these designs for personal use, to give as gifts, or to sell. You can add text, resize, or change colors. The design is not yours because you make changes. You cannot sell, share, give or trade any design. You can only sell the stitched design. The copyright of the design is mine. Please direct anyone interested in my designs to this site. Give credit to Isle B. Stitching. Thanks and enjoy!

What we’ve said!

Evelyn Dockery on Remember the Polaroid?
chebirba on Make this: #17
Jodi Rupp on Make this: #17
canineoralmelanoma on Time flies…
moose845 on Make this: #25
Add to Technorati Favorites
The Animal Rescue Site
